Avid Editors Triumph at the 2014 ACE Eddie Awards

Burlington, MA, 11.02.2014

High-caliber editors rely on the world’s preeminent editing software to cut the most celebrated films of the year

Avid® (NASDAQ: AVID) today congratulates the professional video editing community on their achievements at the 64th annual American Cinema Editors (ACE) Eddie Awards held in Los Angeles on February 7. Many of the nominated and award-winning films were cut by Avid editors who trust the industry’s foremost nonlinear editing solution, Avid Media Composer®, for its reliability and flexibility to create higher quality, inspiring content.

Avid Media Composer was used by various editors who took home awards on the night, including Christopher Rouse for Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic) Captain Phillips, and Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten for Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy or Musical)American Hustle.

“It’s a thrill for our film to be nominated, especially this year with so many excellent movies and so much great editing. It’s true what they say; it’s a huge honor, especially when the nomination comes from your peers,” said Kevin Tent, nominated for Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy or Musical) for Nebraska. “Helping us all the way to the finish line was Media Composer. An amazing machine. Truly the editor’s best friend.”

“As a company, a key part of our heritage lies in the professional video editing community, whose passion inspires our commitment to creating the industry’s most proven and trusted solutions,” said Avid president and CEO Louis Hernandez Jr. “We congratulate our customers on their Eddie Awards, and look forward to continuing our role as their trusted partner for many years to come.”

Eddie Award winners and nominees relied on Avid Media Composer to create:

  • Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic):
    • Captain Phillips (Chris Rouse) - WINNER
    • 12 Years a Slave (Joe Walker)
    • Gravity (Alfonso Cuarón & Mark Sanger)

  • Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy or Musical):
    • American Hustle (Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers & Alan Baumgarten) – WINNER
    • Nebraska (Kevin Tent)